Top searched
Results (0)
As time passed with Rally Dakar

For the First Time Ever the Dakar Phenomenon will not Cross the Border of one Country

Jana Fikotová
09.Dec 2018
+ Add on
2 minutes

Seventy percent of the route on sand, for the first time in history within the territory of one country, which is Peru. French organisers of the 41. year of Rally Dakar 2019 published a detailed programme of the famous race with the breakdown of the various stages in kilometres. For the first time in the history the endurance race will be held within the territory of only one country.

The start is on 7. January from the metropolis of Lima, where the finish line will be, too, on 17. January.

Participants to the race are awaited by ten stages of the longest version of 5,603 kilometres of which a maximum of 2,961 kilometres is a speed race car test. The crews of trucks always race by just two miles less. Riders on motorcycles - quad bikes - are facing 5,541 kilometres in total, of which 2,880 is a race. 

Rally Dakar is a motoring phenomenon whose history began in 1977, when French motorcyclist and adventurer Thierry Sabine got lost in the race Abidjan - Nice for three days in Libyan desert. After this experience he came up with the idea of organising a long-distance desert race across Africa. He founded the Sabine T.S.O. organisation. (Thiery Sabine Organisation) managed to hold the first year of the race just two years later. The participants stood on the starting line in Champs Elysées in Paris on 1. January 1979. Since then, each year it attracts both professionals and amateurs and adventurers who constitute the majority of the starting team.

Prodej luxusního bytu, Praha 1 - Nové Město
Prodej luxusního bytu, Praha 1 - Nové Město, Praha 1

The route kept changing

Due to political reasons the original route from Paris to Senegalese Dakar was changed several times over. Instead of Paris the start was moved to Granada, Lisbon or Dakar. The most significant change; however, came in the 21st century. In 2008 the organisers, due to safety reasons, had to cancel the race and subsequently decided to move it to South America. First the race led through Argentina and Chile, later on the racers drove through Bolivia, Peru or Paraguay.

Joy and sadness

The absolute all-time record winner of Dakar as regards the number of victories, is Frenchman Stéphane Peterhansel, who won Dakar six times over in the category of motorcycles and 5 times in the motorcar category. The risky Dakar adventure; however, each year claims some fatalities. Dakar is responsible for almost fifty fatal injuries of its competitors, including its founder Thiery Sabine or double winner among motorcyclists, Fabricio Meoni. Several dozen victims were also claimed from among the non-competing onlookers.

Reliable cars Tatra

The last year´s 40. year of Rally Dakar was the most demanding in the entire history of the competition. However, TATRA specials showed how excellent driving potential they have. Professional and skilful drivers, navigators and mechanics of Tatra Buggyra Racing Team brought their crew safely to the finish line.  

Did you like the article?
Discussion 0 Enter discussion